Some Things

Update on Beyond the Boundaries – I planned to take some nice slide film photographs for the project and show them with a slide projector in the exhibition – however – the snow has foiled my plans – so I have to find a plan B. I mentioned my experiments with Hexplorer in todays crit, and the rest of the group seemed interested in the outcomes. I don’t know if I am confident enough to show this stuff though, as I have no reasoning or back up for the images, they are just random experiments really. Let’s just hope the snow melts.

Last week our elective session was based around copyright issues within media and digital technologies. Since the boom of Web 2.0, visual artists, musicians, writers and other creators have been uploading and sharing their work online for others to see and hear. Everyone now has the capability to publish their work for thousands to see, almost within an instant.

A lot of people don’t realise that when they, or others upload media to the WWW, it is automatically copyrighted to it’s owner. So for example, if you upload an image which isn’t yours, you may find yourself with copyright issues, as it is assumed the work is your own. I myself have used Creative Commons on Flickr – only for simple reasons (allowing people to view my photographs at full resolution). However since Flickr altered a while back with presenting uploads larger than the usual 500px, users are able to view others uploads up to 1024px. Flickr may not be allowing people to directly save ‘All Rights Reserved’ images, but everyone knows how to do a screen grab or even directly save the media through Firefox. And they’re easily available through Google Images.

On the subject of Girl Talk, I’m a fan of Feed The Animals, and I have to say I would probably listen to around 3% of the songs used in the album on their own. Girl Talk, real name Greg Gillis, gets away with using the samples by citing fair use as a legal backbone (perhaps Christian Marclay used the same?). Personally, I don’t find Gillis’ practice morally wrong, neither do I find the case of Tecno Brega morally wrong. Surely artists should be more concerned about gaining a wider audience rather than earning extortionate amounts of money – otherwise the term artist should be replaced with businessman/businesswoman. But I could talk about issues within music all day. I’m not a musician myself but I have been into music and bands for a few years now, and the subject of music piracy has always been of interest. Earlier this year I wrote a blog post about the effect of the web on musicians’ incomes and how they are working with it here.

Check out this article about Joi Ito’s view of copyright on the net –

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2010/dec/05/my-bright-idea-joi-ito

Leave a Reply

